Administration Of Vellore

Vellore is the headquarters of the Vellore District. The town is the third grade municipality in 1866. It has 60 wards and there is a separate elected Councilor for each ward. The municipal corporation of Vellore District has divided into six departments. They are given below.
  1. General administration/personnel
  2. Engineering
  3. Revenue
  4. Public Health
  5. City planning and
  6. Information Technology (IT)

Vellore District elects a member to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly once every five years. It is a part of the Vellore (Lok Sabha Constituency). It has six assembly constituencies. They are given below
  1. Katpadi
  2. Gudiyatham
  3. Pernambut (SC)
  4. Anaicut
  5. Vellore and
  6. Arni
After delimitation, it is presently composed of Vellore, Anaicut, Kilvazhithunaiankuppam (SC), Gudiyatham, Vaniyambadi and Ambur. Law and Order of the district is maintained by the Vellore subdivision of the Tamil Nadu Police headed by a Deputy Superintendent. Here, there are four police stations in the town; one of the police stations is all-women station. Here, there are special unit like district crime, human rights, prohibition enforcement, district crime records, and social justice which operated at the district level police division commissioned by a Superintendent of Police.