Administration Of Thanjavur

Thanjavur district is administered by Municipality government and it was created in the year 1866 as a third grade municipality as per Town Improvements Act 1865. It was initially consist of 12 members, 18 members in the year 1879, and 24 members in 1883. In the year 1933 it has got second grade municipality, in the year 1943 it has got first grade and as of 1983 it has got special grade municipality. The municipality covers an area of 36.33 Km2. The main functions of the municipality are classified into six departments such as, General, Engineering, Revenue, Public Health, Town planning and the Computer Wing. These departments are under the control of Municipal Commissioner who is the apex executive head.