Administration Of Cuddalore

Municipality of the Cuddalore was established in the year 1866 during the British Empire as a revenue village. It was enhanced selection grade municipality in 1991 and special grade in 2008. It has 45 wards and there is elected councilors for each ward. The functions of the municipality are classified into six departments. They are,

  1. General administration/personnel
  2. Engineering
  3. Revenue
  4. Public Health
  5. Cityplanning and
  6. Information Technology (IT)
The all departments are coming under the control of a Municipal Commissioner who is the executive head. The legislative powers are vested in a body of 45 members, one each from the 45 wards Cuddalore comes under the Cuddalore assembly constituency and it elects a member to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly once every five years.