Administration Of Chennai

Chennai city is administered by the Chennai Corporation. It has established in the year 1688. Ripon Building is the oldest surviving municipal corporation in India and the second oldest surviving corporation in the world. In the year 2011, the jurisdiction of the Chennai was expanded from 174 kilo meters and dividing into three regions such as, North, South and Central which covers 200 wards. This was headed by an IAS (Indian Administrative Officer). The CMDA (Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority) is the nodal agency in charge for planning and development of Chennai Metropolitan Area. The largest outskirts are administered by town municipalities, and the smaller are administered by town councils called panchayat. Under CMDA there are 5 Parliamentary and 28 assembly constituencies.

The CMDA has drafted an Master Plan that aims to build up satellite townships around the city. It includes Mahabalipuram in the south, Chengalpattu and Maraimalai Nagar in the southwest, and Sriperumpudur, Arakkonam, Kanchipuram and Tiruvallur to the West. Now the Chennai is the capitals of Tamil Nadu, legislative headquarter is Fort St. George campus, the Madras High Court is the highest judicial authority in the state. Chennai has three parliamentary constituencies that is, Chennai North, Chennai Central and Chennai South, and elects 14 members of the Legislative assembly (MLA’s) to the state legislature.