About Nilgiris District

The Nilgiris District is one among 32 states in Tamil Nadu, India. In English the Nilgiris has translated as Blue Mountains. It is also the name given to a range of mountains widen across the division between the states of Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Kerala. The Nilgiris Hills are part of a larger mountain chain known as the Western Ghats. Their highest point is the mountain of Doddabetta, height 2,633 meters. Headquarter of the district is Ooty or Udhagamandalam. According to Indian Census 2011, the Nilgiris district had a population of 7, 35,394 with a gender-ratio of 1,042 females for every 1,000 males. It is one of the highly attracted places for tourist all over the globe.

History of Nilgiris

The Nilgiris has long history which dates back many centuries. They were possibly called the Blue Mountains because of the extensive blue Strobilanthes flower, or perhaps the misty cloud enveloping the area. It was initially tribal land that was occupied by the Todas, Badagas, Kotas, Kurumbas and Irulas. But, the lower Wynaad plateau in the west of the district had a different tribal population. Todas and Kotas were widespread across the Nilgiris plateau.

The Badagas have calculated about 135,000 in recent years that are 18% of the District population, while the Todas are barely 1,500 and the Kotas just over 2,000. Nilgiris has very long history which cannot be explained in single line. The name 'Nilgiris' means Blue hills (Neelam - Blue and giri - Hill or Mountain) the first mention of this name has been found in the Silapathikaram (The Tamil great epic). There is a faith that the people existing in the plains at the foot of the hills, should have given the name, the Nilgiris, in view of the violet blossoms of 'Kurinji' flower flanking the hill ranges occasionally. The most primitive reference to the political history of the Nilgiris, according to W.Francis links to the Ganga Dynasty of Mysore. This is very small introduction about Nilgiris district.