About Thiruvarur District

Thiruvarur is administered by the Municipal Corporation. It was announced as a third grade municipality in 1914 during British periods. Then, it was enhanced to a first grade municipality in the year 1978. Municipality has 30 wards and there is a separate councilor for each ward. It has seven revenue villages such as, Vilamal, Vijayaruram, Thiruvarur South, Thiruvarur North, Ramage, Keelakavadhukudi, Kidaramkondan and Sundaravilakam. The operations of the municipality are divided into six departments such as, General administration and Personnel, Revenue, Public Health, Engineering, Information Technology and Town planning. These departments are come under the control of Municipal Commissioner, who is the apex head. Thiruvarur has seven Taluks

A Brief History Of Thiruvarur District

According to legend, Thiruvarur is noted as the capital town of renowned Chola King, Manu Needhi Cholan, who killed his own son to give justice to a cow. His name is generally used as a symbol of justice and fairness in Tamil culture and Tamil literature. Thiruvarur was one among five ancient capitals of the Chola Empire and the history of town circle around the Thiyagaraja temple. Thiruvarur is noted in the Saiva canonical work, Thevaram by Thirugnana Sambanthar, Thirunavukkarasar and Sundarar, the significant Saivite saints of 7th to 8th century CE and mentioned as ‘Padal Petra stalam’

Thirunavukkarasar mentions many cultures of the temple like Panguni Uttirai Perunnal, Veedhivitakanin Veedhi Panni, and Marghazhi Aathirai Vizha. Here, the granite structure of the temple was primarily built by Aditya Chola I (871 to 907 CE) in the 9th century CE and renovated during the regime of Rajaraja Chola I (985 to 1014 CE). The temple was upgraded Thiruvarur District is one among 32 districts in the state of Tamil Nadu, India. This district is surrounded by Nagapattinam District on the east, Thanjavur District on the west, Palk Strait on the South. The district headquarter is Thiruvarur town. According to Census 2011, it had a population of 12,64,277 with a gender ratio of 1,017 females for every 1,000 males. The literacy rate of the town was 82% and literacy rate of the district was 74.86% (According to 2011 Census). Here, Thiyagaraja Temple is an important attraction of the town and one of the biggest temples in Tamil Nadu.

Thiruvarur is very famous for Thiruvarur Chariot festival. Thiruvarur Chariot is the largest Chariot in Tamil Nadu, India. and reconstructs with stone by Rajendra Chola I (1012 to 1044 CE). The temple has inscriptions from both the emperors, afterward Cholas and Pandyas. This temple is assumed to be stimulation for Rajaraja Chola to build the Brahadeeswarar Temple which is popularly called as Periya Kovil, a UNESCO Word Heritage Site. An inscription from the temple shows Thiruvarur as the capital of Kulothunga Chola I (1070 to 1120 CE). During this year the town was emerged a centre of Saivism. After the failure of Cholas in the 13th century CE, the town was come under the control of Pandyas and Hoysalas.

The royal patronage was continued and the town flourished as a cultural centre during the reign of the Nayaks, Vijayanagar Kings and Marathas. In the period of Marathas, the town was become a temporary home to the Nataraja of Chidambaram temple. The town was captured by French troops headed by Lally (1702 to 1766 CE) in the year 1759 CE. The Thiagarajar temple was plundered in a failed attempt to find out hidden treasure. During this attempt, six Brahmins of the temple, dubious to be spies of the British, were killed in an encounter.

The region and Thanjavur were comprised by the British after the failed attempt of the French to defeat the King of Thanjavur. After the independence, Thiruvarur continued to be a part of the Thanjavur district and Nagapattinam district till 1991 and 1997 respectively. Now, the Thiruvarur is the separate district and has headquartered at Thiruvarur city.