Education In Coimbatore

Coimbatore District is an educational hub of south India. As of 2010, Coimbatore is headquarter to 7 Universities, 78 engineering colleges, 3 medical colleges, 35 polytechnic colleges and more than 150 Arts and Science Colleges and huge number of schools. The Coimbatore has eminent, renowned, reputed universities like Tamil Nadu Agricultural University which is started in the year 1971, Bharathiar University which is established in the year 1982, Anna University Coimbatore which is started in the year 2007, Avinashilingam University, and Karunaya University.It also home to research institutes like Central institute for Cotton research, Sugarcane Breeding institute, Institute of Forest Genetics and Tree Breeding (IFGTB), Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education and Tamil Nadu Institute of Urban Studies.Government Arts College is the first college in Coimbatore opened in the year 1875 to 1876. The first Forest College opened in 1916. The first engineering college was opened by G.D. Naidu as the Arthur Hope College of Technology in 1945. After, it became the Government College of Technology. PSG College of Technology was opened in the year late 1951.

The Air Force Administrative College was opened in 1949 to cater training for Indian Air Force personnel. Coimbatore Institute of Technology was established in the 1950’s. In Medical Colleges, Coimbatore Medical College was established in the year 1966. The Government Law College was started from 1978. The agricultural school was established in 1968 and it was converted into Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (in a full-fledged agricultural university). Several autonomous engineering and arts and science colleges were started in the 1990’s. Here, there are three types of schools. Corporation schools administered and funded by private trusts, Anglo Indian School and CBSE.